Australian Bodyboard Titles held in Epic Conditions at Port Macquarie’s North Haven Beach

Published on 16/08/2023

PORT MACQUARIE, NSW (August 16th, 2023): The Australian Bodyboard Titles concluded today at North Haven in Port Macquarie. Held under pristine 3-4 foot offshore conditions, the ocean provided the perfect canvas for bodyboarders to showcase their prowess, vying for the coveted title of Australian Champion.

In what many consider the best conditions ever seen for this division of the Australian Titles, Glen Elliott, Surfing Australia Contest Director, praised the waves, stating, “Epic conditions for the bodyboarders, with each participant reveling in the high-performance peaks at North Haven. Solid 3-4 foot left and right peaks were the order of the day, complete with tube riding and big flips.”

The Open Men’s and Open Women’s events were both dominated by surfers from Western Australia. The $1000 winner’s prize will undoubtedly assist with their cross-country travel expenses to this prestigious event.

Ebony Schell (Mindarie, WA) defeated her East Coast adversaries in the Open Women’s, securing back-to-back Australian Titles. She remarked:

“I think just the vibes here are amazing to complete with all my friends from WA and cheer each other along and obviously to back up that win from last year it builds up my confidence, yeah I’ll be back next year to defend my title”

Participants couldn’t stop talking about the fantastic conditions they encountered throughout the event. Kai De Legh Padbury (Perth, WA), the Open Men’s winner, shared:

“The forecast was looking pretty sad at the start, then I think it was on the second day it picked up and it was 3-4 foot, just pumping offshore glassy peaks, which was great to see.”

At 21, Kai was the youngest finalist, surpassing his rival Jimmy Leayr (Newcastle, NSW) by a mere margin of 0.3 to claim the Australian Title

In the over-35 Masters, Wade Boeree (Kotara, NSW), originally from Western Australia and now representing the Newcastle Bodyboard Club, triumphed with an impressive heat total of 17.26, which included an individual score of 9.13. For Wade, the contest transcends scores:

“I mostly compete just for the kinship, these guys are my brothers and I enjoy the camaraderie that I’ve formed over the last 30 years of bodyboarding.”

For all the participants in the Bodyboard division, this competition is not just about titles or scores. It’s an amalgamation of camaraderie, the joy of surfing, and the memory of the fantastic waves that allowed them to compete to claim the title of Australian Champion. 

Final Results for the Bodyboard Division:

Under 18 Junior Men

1. Jai Taylor (Noosa, QLD)
2. Samuel Bisegna (Newcastle, NSW)  
3. Cooper Stewart (Buddina, QLD)
4. Carter Bourke (Doonan, QLD) 

Under 16 Cadet Open

1. Sunny Williams (Pacific Palms, NSW)
2. Archer Thoms (North Haven, NSW)
3. Sam Tickle (North Lambton, NSW)
4. Tully Roberts (Barwon Heads, NSW)

Under 14 Grommet Open

1. Archer Thoms (North Haven, NSW)
2. Chase Stewart (Buddina, QLD)
3. Ollie Williams (Elizabeth beach, NSW)
4. Hardy Fletcher (North Haven, NSW)

Open Men

1. Kai De Legh Padbury (Perth, WA)
2. Jimmy Leayr  (Newcastle, NSW)
3. John Cruickshank (Belmont North, NSW)
4. Grant Nutter (Pimpama, QLD)

Open Women

1. Ebony Schell (Mindarie, WA)
2. Lyndall Jucker (Hampton East, VIC)
3. Milica Ivic (Tingira Heights, NSW)
4. Mariko Menzies (Cronulla, NSW)

O35 Masters Mens

1. Wade Boeree (Kotara, NSW)
2. Chris Thornton (NSW)
3. Ryan Jucker (Hampton East, VIC)
4. Glenn Schell (Mindarie, WA)

O45 Men

1. Nathan Clark (Mentone, VIC)
2. Justin Kirkpatrick (Gold Coast, QLD)
3. Monty Riggs (North Avoca, NSW)
4. Glenn Schell (Mindarie, WA)

Drop Knee

1. Jimmy Leayr (Newcastle, NSW)
2. Aaron Glossop (Forster, NSW)
3. Dane Pope (Geelong, VIC)
4. John Cruickshank (Belmont North, NSW)

For a full list of results go to the website HERE.

The Australian Shortboard Titles start tomorrow.

View the draw and see LIVE results via LiveHeats

Shortboard Divisions:

  • Open Men
  • Open Women
  • Over 35 Men
  • Over 35 Women
  • Over 40 Men
  • Over 45 Men
  • Over 50 Men
  • Over 50 Women
  • Over 55 Men
  • Over 60 Men

Australian Surf Championships – Port Macquarie, NSW (Aug 4 – 21)

  • Opening Ceremony: August 4
  • Australian Longboard Titles: August 5 – 12
  • Australian Para Surfing Titles: August 13
  • Australian Bodyboard Titles: August 14 – 16
  • Australian Shortboard Titles: August 17 – 21

Stay up to date with event info and daily confirmation of event locations by joining the Australian Surf Championships 2023 WhatsApp community HERE.

Entry to the Australian Titles is by state qualification or invitation.

The Australian Surf Championships are proudly supported by the NSW Government through its tourism and major events agency, Destination NSW as well as Port Macquarie Hastings Council, Le Tan, Stroud Homes, Bonny Hills Beach Hotel, Jim Beam, Stoddart Group, One Agency North Haven and Surfing NSW.

My Profile

Login to your profile or Sign up to our new Surfing Portal.


Head to your Surfing Portal to purchase or renew memberships

Events & Courses

Head to your Surfing Portal to enter events and courses.


Other News

Jarvis Earle takes out the Krui Pro QS 5000

Jarvis Earle takes out the Krui Pro QS 5000

Jarvis Earle overcame a huge field of Asia Pacific's best up-and-coming surfers as well as huge surf throughout the week to claim victory at the Krui Pro Qualifying Series 5000.The men’s Final saw two of the event...

read more