First 2022 Australian Surf Champions Crowned

Published on 07/08/2022

Sunday 7th August, 2022: Freya Prumm (NSW) and Reef Heazlewood (QLD) are the first Australian Surf Champions for 2022. Both Prumm and Heazlewood are long-time competitive surfers and first-time Australian Champions.

Finals day of the first event of the Australian Surf Championships was all about heat strategy. The competition was run under small 1-2 foot conditions at beautiful North Haven Beach, south of Port Macquarie. 

Freya Prumm (30) from the NSW Far South Coast has been to a number of Australian Championships but was stoked to win her first Title today. 

“I’m as frothing as you can be when you surf for 13 years without a big victory,” said Prumm after her win.

It was the game-day experience that helped her win her Title today. Under priority Prumm caught a back-up wave on a separate bank to the rest of the field. It gave her the edge she needed to steal the lead from fellow Team NSW surfer Charli Hurst. 

“It was tricky out there, especially surfing against the younger girls who have an advantage in small surf but it’s not just about surfing, it’s about playing the game and it’s no secret that I love playing the game,” Prumm added.

Reef Heazlewood (22) from Queensland’s Sunshine Coast is also no stranger to the Australian Championships. He has won a number of Australian Junior Titles in his time and has now added an Open Title to the list. 

“It was tough out there but it makes the win really nice,” said Heazlewood.

“I was able to show my competitive skills and stay sharp. There was a set at the start of the heat that I got a seven point ride on and backed it up with an eight towards the end.”

Heazlewood pulled out his trademark aerial manoeuvres to impress the judges and stayed busy between the banks to find the highest scoring left-hand waves. 

“It was a really fun final. All the boys really pushed each other, there were a couple of stressful moments but that made it a great one to compete in,” he added.

Not only do both winners return home with a National Title, but also a cool $4,000 in prize money. 


Open Men

1st Reef Heazlewood (QLD) 15.5

2nd Micah Margieson (NSW) 11.65

3rd Nic Squires (NSW) 9.6

4th Maddy Job (QLD) 8.55

Open Women

1st Freya Prumm (NSW) 12.4

2nd Charli Hurst (NSW) 11.35

3rd Tru Starling (NSW) 8.15

4th Eva Bassed (VIC) 7.5 

The Australian Shortboard Titles continues this week with the Over 35 through to Over 60 divisions ahead of the Longboard and Logger Titles next weekend. View heat draw for Australian Shortboard Championships 

Location and schedule subject to change based on conditions. For live updates and links, follow @surfingAus Instagram. For all live results, visit the Live Heats event page

2022 Australian Surf Championships

My Profile

Login to your profile or Sign up to our new Surfing Portal.


Head to your Surfing Portal to purchase or renew memberships

Events & Courses

Head to your Surfing Portal to enter events and courses.


Other News