South Aus Champions Crowned at the Woolworths Surfer Groms Comp 2022

Published on 04/10/2022

Surfing South Australia hosted the Woolworths Surfer Groms Comp on the weekend. 

Conditions were perfect for the 45 junior surfers who had 2-3 foot clean surf at Day Street, Middleton. Stoked groms had a massive day of surfing and beach games as part of the national junior surf series.

Ashton Crowley and Keira Hunt took the coveted U14 Divisions winning trips to attend an all-expenses-paid, three-day Woolworths Surfer Groms Comps National Final Surf Camp, (one-day coaching clinic, two days of competition, and heat analysis coaching) at the Surfing Australia High-Performance Centre (HPC).  

The Under 12 Girls and Boys went to Isabel O’Boyle and Hamish Harrington respectively. Under 10 Girls went to Isabel O’Boyle and the Under 10 Boys were taken out by Connor O’Boyle with Gus Wilson taking out the Under 8 Mixed division. The Surfing SA Under 16 mixed title went to Arley Partridge, Maia Taite, Riley Lewis, and Jax Williams.

This years Woolworths Fresh wave awards went to Seth Bailey and Isabel O’Boyle for outstanding performances and sportsmanship.

Regarded as one of the significant steppingstones in the development of young Australian surfers, the 10-event Woolworths Surfer Groms Comps series caters to surfers from Under 8 to Under 14 and will be held in New South Wales, Queensland, Victoria, Western Australia, Tasmania, and South Australia over summer.


U8 Mixed

  1. Taj Winter (Port Noarlunga South)
  2. Ben Forbes (Seaford)

U10 Girls

  1. Isabel O’Boyle (Lennox Head)
  2. Matilda Harrington (Emerald Beach)

U10 Boys

  1. Connor O’Boyle (Lennox Head)
  2. Leo Wilson (West Lakes)
  3. Alfie Howse (Seaford)
  4. Cole Winter (Port Noarlunga South)

U12 Girls

  1. Isabel O’Boyle (Lennox Head)
  2. Isla Kindstrom (Port Noarlunga South)
  3. Chloe Crowley (Port Noarlunga South)
  4. Edie Howse (Seaford)

U12 Boys

  1. Hamish Harrington (Emerald Beach)
  2. Connor O’Boyle (Lennox Head)
  3. Seth Bailey (Victor Harbor)
  4. Max Disley (Hallett Cove)

U14 Girls

  1. Keira Hunt (Kingston Park)
  2. Jemma Crowley (Port Noarlunga South)
  3. Priya Jakhwal (Port Noarlunga South)
  4. Eve Disley (Hallett Cove)

U14 Boys

  1. Ashton Crowley (Port Noarlunga South)
  2. Mitchell Henderson (Christie’s Beach)
  3. Noah Keelan (Encounter Bay)
  4. Cadel Garner (Port Noarlunga South)

U16 Mixed

  1. Arley Partrdge (Port Noarlunga South)
  2. Maia Taite (Seaford)
  3. Riley Lewis (West Beach)
  4. Jax Williams (Port Noarlunga)
Woolworths Surfer Groms South Australia

My Profile

Login to your profile or Sign up to our new Surfing Portal.


Head to your Surfing Portal to purchase or renew memberships

Events & Courses

Head to your Surfing Portal to enter events and courses.


Other News

Jarvis Earle takes out the Krui Pro QS 5000

Jarvis Earle takes out the Krui Pro QS 5000

Jarvis Earle overcame a huge field of Asia Pacific's best up-and-coming surfers as well as huge surf throughout the week to claim victory at the Krui Pro Qualifying Series 5000.The men’s Final saw two of the event...

read more