WINNERS REVEALED At 2022 Australian Surfing Awards Incorporating The Hall of Fame Presented By Billabong

Published on 08/05/2022


CASUARINA/NSW(Sunday,May 8th/2022): Joel Parkinson’s Australian Surfing Hall of Fame induction presented by Billabong headlined a huge celebration of Aussie surfing at QT Gold Coast last night. The 2012 World Champion and Coolangatta legend was humbled by the honour and was presented the award by long-time mentor Michael Searle.

After a massive 2021 rookie season that included a top five finish at the WSL Finals in California, Morgan Cibilic was crowned Male Surfer of The Year while young gun Molly Picklum took out Female Surfer of The Year, out voting seven-time World Champion Steph Gilmore and Isabella Nichols for top honours. 

Just a few other highlights of the evening included the inaugural Male and Female Para Surfer of The Year winners in Para World Champions Sam Bloom and Mark ‘Mono’ Stewart, Surfing Western Australia’s Mark Lane taking out the Peter Troy Lifetime Award and Bede Durbidge’s win in the Ruffie Coach of The Year Category for his epic Olympic Campaign.

The 2022 Australian Surfing Awards is proudly supported by the Queensland Government, through Tourism and Events Queensland, and features on the It’s Live! in Queensland events calendar.

2022 Australian Surfing Awards Incorporating the Hall of Fame WINNERS:

Male Surfer of the Year

Morgan Cibilic 

Female Surfer of the Year  

Molly Picklum  

Griffith University Rising Star Award – Female

Sierra Kerr

Griffith University Rising Star Award – Male  

Jarvis Earle 

Oakley Heavy Water Award  

Kipp Caddy

Reeftip Greater Good Award 

Surf Aid’s Make A Wave

Peter Troy Lifetime Award  

Mark Lane

Ruffie Coach Of The Year

Bede Durbidge

ACCIONA Innovation Award 

Surf Lakes

Zambrero Surf Culture Award    

WA Surf Gallery

Simon Anderson Club Award  

North Narrabeen Boardriders Club

Woolworths Indigenous Surfing Community Celebration Award 

Surfing Victoria Indigenous Engagement Program

Female Para-Surfer of The Year Award 

Sam Bloom

Male Para-Surfer of The Year Award

Mark Stewart

Surfing Australia Surf Video of the Year    

“Re-Pulse” by Justin Gane

Surf Photo of The Year

Ted Grambeau ‘ Maya Gaberia’

World-renowned Surf Journalist Nick Carroll continues in the role of Curator of the Australian Surfing Awards incorporating the Hall of Fame.

The Australian Surfing Awards incorporating the Hall of Fame is proudly supported by Tourism and Events Queensland, QT Gold Coast,  Griffith University, Reeftip Drinks Co., Zambrero, ACCIONA,  Modus , Billabong, Andrew Peace Wines and OnStone.

My Profile

Login to your profile or Sign up to our new Surfing Portal.


Head to your Surfing Portal to purchase or renew memberships

Events & Courses

Head to your Surfing Portal to enter events and courses.


Other News

Jarvis Earle takes out the Krui Pro QS 5000

Jarvis Earle takes out the Krui Pro QS 5000

Jarvis Earle overcame a huge field of Asia Pacific's best up-and-coming surfers as well as huge surf throughout the week to claim victory at the Krui Pro Qualifying Series 5000.The men’s Final saw two of the event...

read more