2023 Australian Shortboard Titles Conclude

Published on 22/08/2023

**PORT MACQUARIE, NSW, August 21st, 2023** — North Haven Beach in the picturesque Port Macquarie region came alive as the Australian Shortboard Titles concluded today. The Australian Surf Championships were blessed with superb waves throughout, and the Shortboard Division was no exception.

Glen Elliott, Surfing Australia Contest Director, praised today’s conditions: “Today was nothing short of spectacular. The surfers were on fire! The Semi-Finals showcased some great barrels, setting the bar high for performance throughout the competition.” Unfortunately, conditions deteriorated for the finals with the wind coming up from the North East, forcing competitors to adapt to the tricky onshore conditions.

The Open Men’s Final saw Jarvis Earle (NSW) dominate from the outset, reinforcing his credentials as the reigning World Surf League World Junior Champion. Ben Lorensten (QLD) clinched second place with a timely score, outshining Semi-Finals sensations Willis Droomer (VIC) and Maddy Job (QLD).

Jarvis said of his win:
“The final was in really tricky conditions, all the boys got a couple of good waves and it came right down to the wire. I was just stoked to get a few good ones and come away with the win”

In the Open Women’s Final, 18-year-old Rosie Smart (NSW) overcame her seasoned competitors, including 2022 Australian Champion Freya Prumm (NSW). It was Smart’s solid technical backhand surfing that earned her the lead. Kirra-Belle Olsson (NSW), a former Australian Junior Champion, scored the highest wave in the final but fell short overall, leaving Smart as the winner.

Smart was over the moon at the Australian Title:
“It was a super close battle with Kirra-Belle, I let her go a wave when I had priority at the end so that was a bit of a mistake, luckily she fell off. I never thought I’d win an Aussie Title so it feels pretty surreal”

Queensland managed to secure two national titles at this year’s Shortboard event. Trevor Tripcony (Yaroomba, QLD) claimed the Over 40 Men with a solid 14.37 total, while Lauren Poor (Marcoola, QLD) won for the second year in a row in the Over 35 Women division.

The Masters Finals of the Shortboard Division concluded on August 19th. Rod Baldwin (Copacabana, NSW), after bagging two Australian Titles in 2022, emerged victorious in the Over 55 Men category but was bested by Max Perrot (Lennox Head, NSW) in the Over 60 Men. 

The shortboard division’s conclusion marks the end of a remarkable Australian Surf Championships. Over the past 17 days, this event has served as a platform for Australia’s surfers to unite, compete, and play in the beautiful setting of Port Macquarie.

Final Results for the Shortboard Division:

Open Women

1. Rosie Smart (Sawtell, NSW)
2. Kirra-Belle Olsson (Port Macquarie, NSW)
3. Phillipa Anderson (Newcastle, NSW)
4. Freya Prumm (Merimbula, NSW)

Open Men

1. Jarvis Earle (Cronulla, NSW)
2. Ben Lorentson (Sunshine Beach, QLD)
3. Willis Droomer (Jan Juc, VIC)
4. Maddy Job (Burleigh Heads, QLD)

Over 35 Women

1. Lauren Poor (Marcoola, QLD)
2. Belinda Koorey (Manly Vale, NSW)
3. Belinda Adams (Busselton, WA)
4. Tiffany Riggs (Torquay, VIC)

Over 35 Men

1. Matt Hoar (Dalmeny, NSW)
2. Christo Hall (Narrabeen, NSW)
3. Shane Carroll (Avalon Beach, NSW)
4. Shane Conwell (Whale Beach, NSW)

Over 40 Men

1. Trevor Tripcony (Yaroomba, QLD)
2. Shane Conwell (Whale Beach, NSW)
3. Mitchell Dawkings (Nelson Bay NSW)
4. Jye Gofton (Coolum Beach, QLD)

Over 50 Men

1. Brett Bannister (Narrabeen, NSW)
2. Arthur McKenzie (Cowes, VIC)
3. Graeme Fenton (Mermaid Beach, QLD)
4. Glenn Pringle (Cronulla, NSW)

Over 50 Women

1. Greta Francis (Narrabeen, NSW)
2. Fiona Bamberry (Cromer, NSW)
3. Belinda Koorey (Manly Vale, NSW)
4. Cheryl Peat (Christies Beach, SA)
5. Cheryl Buck (Colonel Light Gardens, SA)

Over 55 Men

1. Rod Baldwin (Copacabana, NSW)
2. David Hammond (Avalon Beach, NSW)
3. Mark Tickle (Newport, NSW)
4. Andrew Johnson (Dalmeny, NSW)

Over 45 Men

1. Paul Parkes (Adamstown, NSW)
2. Troy Dowker (Currumbin, QLD)
3. Mitchell Dawkings (Nelson Bay, NSW)
4. Cameron Sharpe (Shelly Beach, NSW)

Over 60 Men

1. Max Perrot (Lennox Head, NSW)
2. Rod Baldwin (Copacabana, NSW)
3. Patrick Connell (City Beach, WA)
4. Chris Matters (Moore Park Beach, QLD)

For a full list of results go to the website HERE.

The Australian Shortboard Titles start tomorrow.

View the draw and see LIVE results via LiveHeats

Entry to the Australian Titles is by state qualification or invitation.

The Australian Surf Championships are proudly supported by the NSW Government through its tourism and major events agency, Destination NSW as well as Port Macquarie Hastings Council, Le Tan, Stroud Homes, Bonny Hills Beach Hotel, Jim Beam, Stoddart Group, One Agency North Haven and Surfing NSW.

My Profile

Login to your profile or Sign up to our new Surfing Portal.


Head to your Surfing Portal to purchase or renew memberships

Events & Courses

Head to your Surfing Portal to enter events and courses.


Other News

Jarvis Earle takes out the Krui Pro QS 5000

Jarvis Earle takes out the Krui Pro QS 5000

Jarvis Earle overcame a huge field of Asia Pacific's best up-and-coming surfers as well as huge surf throughout the week to claim victory at the Krui Pro Qualifying Series 5000.The men’s Final saw two of the event...

read more