2023 Australian Surf Championships Return to Port Macquarie

Published on 01/06/2023

The 2023 Australian Surf Championships are returning to the wave-rich Port Macquarie in NSW from August 4 – 21.

The championships incorporate the Australian Longboard Titles from August 5 – 12, the Australian Para Surfing Titles on August 13, the Australian Bodyboard Titles from August 14 – 16 and the Australian Shortboard Titles from August 17- 21, with hundreds of competitors from around the country are set to descend on the region.

Surfing Australia CEO, Chris Mater said: “We look forward to seeing some of Australia’s best surfers return to Port Macquarie to battle it out in the hope of being crowned a national champion. This event is one of the biggest and most prestigious on the Surfing Australia calendar with the Australian Shortboard Titles the highest-rated event (Tier 8) on the National Open Rankings valued at 10,000 points for first place across Open Men and Open Women. So, there’s a lot on the line and no doubt competition will be fierce.”

The region is expected to provide athletes with a plethora of wave profiles and pumping conditions over the course of the 17-day competition.

Surfing NSW CEO, Luke Madden said: “We’re stoked to see the return of the 2023 Australian Surf Championships to the Port Macquarie region. The region offers incredible surf breaks from Town Beach to North Haven so our competitors will not be short of options. Every year the level and quality of surfing exceed everyone’s expectations, couple this with the hospitality of the local Port Macquarie community, we are looking forward to this monumental event in such a beautiful pocket of the NSW coastline.”

This event invites many of the country’s most talented athletes in their respective board disciplines and divisions to compete. Last year’s event saw 2023 WSL Margaret River Pro Wildcard Reef Heazlewood (QLD) and WSL Qualifying Series contender Freya Prumm (NSW) take out the Open Shortboard divisions. As well as 2023 Longboard Championship Tour competitor Declan Wyton (NSW) who won the Mens Open Longboard Title, followed by Ebony Schell (WA) dominating victory in the Open Women’s Bodyboard. 

Entry to the Australian Titles is by state qualification or invitation. Qualified competitors of the below board divisions will represent their state as surfing enthusiasts and competitor friends and family eagerly watch to find out who will be crowned an Australian Titles Champion.

Australian Surf Championships – Port Macquarie, NSW

  • Opening Ceremony: 4 August
  • Australian Longboard Titles: 5 – 12 August
  • Australian Para Surfing Titles: 13 August
  • Australian Bodyboard Titles: 14 – 16 August
  • Australian Shortboard Titles: 17 – 21 August

More details on website HERE.

The Australian Surf Championships is proudly supported by the NSW Government through its tourism and major events agency, Destination NSW as well as Port Macquarie Hastings Council, Bonny Hills Beach Hotel, Jim Beam and Le Tan.

My Profile

Login to your profile or Sign up to our new Surfing Portal.


Head to your Surfing Portal to purchase or renew memberships

Events & Courses

Head to your Surfing Portal to enter events and courses.


Other News