Hyundai Australian Boardriders Battle Grand Final presented by Zambrero – Wildcard Club

Published on 25/01/2023

North Narrabeen is set to shake up the Hyundai Australian Boardriders Battle Grand Final presented by Zambrero after being named this year’s wildcard club.

They’re not taking any chances in their quest for national glory. The team list includes ex-CT surfers Davie Cathels, Laura Enever and Nathan Hedge as well as QS and Challenger Series competitors Jordy Lawler, Dylan Moffat, Jamie Thomson, Cooper Chapman, Jesse Starling and Kai Warner.

North Narrabeen Coach, Matt Cattle said: “North Narrabeen are grateful and excited to receive the ABB wildcard position for 2023.

“North Narrabeen Boardriders is 59 years old and it’s a privilege to coach the club with such legends as Damien Hardman two time World Champion and President, Simon Anderson Pipe Master, Terry Fitzgerald, Col Smith, Mark Warren, Dappa Oliver, Tony Hardwick, Greg Ando, Nathan Webster, Mark & Brett Bannister, Davey Cathels, Nathan Hedge and Laura Enever.”

23 clubs have qualified for the Grand Final with the Hyundai Trials teams event on the morning of Saturday, 4th February, to determine the 24th, and final, spot.

The Hyundai Australian Boardriders Battle presented by Zambrero is the country’s biggest grassroots boardriders event involving more than 75 clubs and over $110,000 in prize money.

This year marks the tenth anniversary of the series, which continues to get bigger and better every year. The Grand Final will be held at Newcastle Beach on February 4-5 and broadcast live and free on the Seven Network’s digital streaming platform 7plus.

A range of specialty awards are also up for grabs including the Wayne Bartholomew & Layne Beachley Medal and Reeftip Club Spirit Award.

2022 Hyundai Australian Boardriders Battle Grand Final Qualified Clubs:

1. Snapper Surfriders club
2. Burleigh Heads Boardriders
3. North Shore Boardriders Club
4. Noosa Boardriders Club
5. Yallingup Boardriders Club
6. Trigg Point Boardriders
7.  Sea View Road Boardriders
8. Southarm Boardriders
9. Byron Bay Boardriders
10. Kingscliff Boardriders Club
11. Coffs Harbour Boardriders Club
12. Port Macquarie Surfboard Riders Club
13. Torquay Boardriders
14. Phillip Island Boardriders Club
15. North Shelly Boardriders
16. Long Reef Boardriders
17. North Avalon Surfriders Association
18. Avoca Boardriders
19. Maroubra United Boardriders
20. Scarborough Boardriders Club
21. Jones Beach Boardriders Club
22. Elouera Boardriders Club
23. North Narrabeen Boardriders ***wildcard club

The 2022/23 Australian Boardriders Battle is proudly sponsored by Hyundai, Zambrero, Harvey Norman, ACCIONA, Oakley, Reeftip, Ruffie, City of Newcastle and Destination NSW with support from the NSW Government through its tourism and major events agency, Destination NSW and Steel City.

Hyundai Australian Boardriders Battle 10-year anniversary series schedule:

EVENT 1: Gold Coast, Qld – Sept 3, 2022
EVENT 2: Trigg, WA – Sept 10, 2022
EVENT 3: Fleurieu Peninsula, SA – Sept 24, 2022
EVENT 4: Clifton Beach, Tas – Oct 22, 2022
EVENT 5: Coffs Harbour, NSW North – Oct 29, 2022
EVENT 6: Phillip Island, Vic – Nov 6, 2022
EVENT 7: North Narrabeen, NSW Central – Nov 19, 2022
EVENT 8: Kiama, NSW South – Nov 26, 2022
GRAND FINAL: Newcastle Beach, NSW – Feb 4-5, 2023

My Profile

Login to your profile or Sign up to our new Surfing Portal.


Head to your Surfing Portal to purchase or renew memberships

Events & Courses

Head to your Surfing Portal to enter events and courses.


Other News

Skullcandy Oz Grom Open kicks off at Lennox Head

Skullcandy Oz Grom Open kicks off at Lennox Head

Some of the world’s best and most exciting grommet surfers will call Lennox Head home this week when the Skullcandy Oz Grom Open kicks off. This six-day event will run from 4 July – 9 July 2024 and will comprise of a...

read more