Point Lookout On Hunt For Maiden Title At Hyundai Australian Boardriders Battle Newcastle Grand Final

Published on 25/01/2022

CASUARINA/NSW(Wednesday, January 26th/2022):  Point Lookout Boardriders Club are yet to bag their first Hyundai Australian Boardriders Battle Grand Final title but 2022 could be the drought-breaking year. 

Always fielding a strong team, the North Stradbroke Island club has been in the running to take national bragging rights on several occasions with the likes of Bede Durbidge, Ethan Ewing and Tim Macdonald leading the charge. 

Macdonald has every confidence in this year’s squad and said: “We know we have the team to win a Grand Final. It’s a really strong, really balanced team led by Bede Durbidge and includes incredibly talented surfers like Curtis Ewing, Stacey Baxter, Linc Taylor and the Jenner boys just to name a few. If we can put it all together over the weekend I reckon we have as good a chance as anyone to take the win!” 

Point Lookout Boardriders Club Team Sheet: 

1. Bede Durbidge

2. Curtis Ewing

3. Zane Jenner

4. Lincoln Taylor 

5. Stacey Baxter

6. Taylia Henderson

7. Jai Jenner

8. Tim Macdonald

9. Ash Jenner

10. Ryan Heisig 

2022 Hyundai Australian Boardriders Battle Grand Final Qualified Clubs:

  1. Snapper SRC
  2. North Shore BRC
  3. Burleigh Heads BRC
  4. Kawana BRC
  5. North Steyne BRC
  6. Nth Narrabeen BRC
  7. Long Reef BRC
  8. Le Ba BRC
  9. Kingscliff BRC
  10. Coffs Harbour BRC
  11. Scarborough BRC
  12. Jones Beach BRC
  13. Cronulla Sharks BRC
  14. Margaret River BRC
  15. Seaford BRC
  16. South Arm BRC
  17. Phillip Island BRC
  18. Torquay BRC


  1. North Shelley BRC
  2. Merewether SBC
  3. Point Lookout BRC
  4. Maroubra United BRC
  5. North Avalon Surfing Association
  6.  * Local Trials WINNER 

The 2021/22 Hyundai Australian Boardriders Battle has been bigger and better than ever since launching into its ninth season on the Gold Coast earlier this year. In what has become world-renowned as the biggest and best club surfing series on the planet, the nine-leg Hyundai Australian Boardriders Battle Series travels to all corners of the country with events at epic locations like Newcastle for the National Final. For previous results, images and video highlights head over to www.australianboardridersbattle.com

Hyundai Australian Boardriders Battle Series Nine Schedule:

ABB – EVENT 1 – Gold Coast, QLD – August 28, 2021 -COMPLETED

ABB – EVENT 2 – Fleurieu Peninsula, SA – Sept 4, 2021 –COMPLETED

ABB – EVENT 3 – Trigg, WA – Sept 18, 2021 –COMPLETED

ABB – EVENT 4 – Scamander, TAS – Oct 2, 2021–COMPLETED

ABB – EVENT 5 – NSW Central – North Narrabeen, NSW – Nov 27, 2021 — COMPLETED

ABB – EVENT 6 – NSW South – Kiama, NSW – Dec 11, 2021–COMPLETED


ABB – EVENT 8 – NSW Nth – Coffs Harbour, NSW – Dec 18, 2021 — COMPLETED

Grand Final – Newcastle Beach, NSW – Feb 5 – 6, 2022

The 2021/22 Hyundai Australian Boardriders Battle Grand Final is proudly supported by Hyundai, Zambrero, Oakley, ACCIONA, Woolworths, Pics Peanut Butter, City of Newcastle, Destination NSW, Andrew Peace Wines, Gage Roads Brewing Company and Surfing Australia.

My Profile

Login to your profile or Sign up to our new Surfing Portal.


Head to your Surfing Portal to purchase or renew memberships

Events & Courses

Head to your Surfing Portal to enter events and courses.


Other News