South Arm Continue Their Dominance At Tassie Hyundai Australian Boardriders Battle State Qualifier

Published on 05/10/2021

Clifton Beach-based South Arm Boardriders club (SABR) retained their title as Tasmania’s top boardrider club but before serious challenges from arch-rivals North West Boardriders (NWBR) and Park Beach Boardriders (PBBR) at Scamander over the weekend.

Park Beach caused an upset by winning Heat 1 and progressed straight through to the finals. This left the local North East Boardriders club, NWBR and SABR to fight out for the two places left in the final. SABR and NWBR surfers found quality waves to build big scores and securing their final berths.

SABR club is packed full of multiple state champions like Lizzy Stokely, Rudy Davis and Toby Lawrence making challenging competition for the other state clubs. However, the terrific surf conditions running all day played into the hands of all surfers who found another level and excelled in the one to two metre offshore left and right-hand waves.

SABR surfer and current Open Men’s State Champion Rudy Davis was outstanding all day and won the Oakley Performer Award for the second year.

Organisers were calling conditions the best in the history of this annual Tasmanian round of the ABB national series despite earlier forecasts of very poor onshore and wet conditions over all the east coast for the weekend.

The Hyundai Australian Boardriders Battle event is part of the national series held each year to find Australia’s best club. The national final will be held in Newcastle in February where SABR will again line up against Australia’s best surfers.

For previous results, images and video highlights head over to​

Hyundai Australian Boardriders Battle Series Nine Schedule:

Event 1 – Gold Coast, QLD – August 28, 2021

Event 2 – Fleurieu Peninsula, SA – Sept 4, 2021

Event 3 – Trigg, WA – Sept 19, 2021

Event 4 – Scamander, TAS – Oct 2, 2021 

Event 5 – Phillip Island, VIC – Nov 6, 2021

Event 6 – NSW Central – North Narrabeen, NSW – Nov 27, 2021

Event 7 – NSW South – Kiama, NSW – Dec 11, 2021

Event 8 – NSW North – Coffs Harbour, NSW – Dec 18, 2021

National Final – Newcastle, NSW – TBC 

NOTE: Due to the ongoing COVID-19 situation and Surfing Australia’s commitment to comply with all State and Federal regulations, series dates are subject to change at any time. 

The 2021/22 Hyundai Australian Boardriders Battle series is proudly supported by Hyundai, Oakley, ACCIONA, 2XP,, Destination NSW, Surfing Australia and Surfing WA.

My Profile

Login to your profile or Sign up to our new Surfing Portal.


Head to your Surfing Portal to purchase or renew memberships

Events & Courses

Head to your Surfing Portal to enter events and courses.


Other News