Swell picks up delivering punchy day of action at the Woolworths Australian Junior Surfing Titles

Published on 02/12/2023

Finalists have been decided, and winners crowned on day seven of the Woolworths Australian Junior Surfing Titles.

Jimmi Hill (NSW) set the competition alight with an impressive aerial manoeuvre as part of a 9.25-ride to book his spot in the U18 Men’s decider. He’ll be joined in the final by MacklinFlynn (WA), EdenHasson (NSW), who won the second semifinal, and WillemWatson(VIC).

Willow Hardy (WA) was the standout in the U18 Women’s semis, posting an excellent 9.00 ride to win her heat. She’ll face Natalie Fensom (NSW), Sarah Young (QLD) and Jordy Halford (QLD) in the final.

Earlier, Ruby Trew and Grace Gosby from NSW took out the Under 16 Girls Allstars schools division. It was a tight battle throughout, with Sara Hickson (VIC) starting off strong, getting the early lead. However, NSW stayed in it, and Ruby Trew pulled off an incredible final ride, scoring a 6.23 ride in a mad minute flurry of waves where a NSW, Victorian and WA surfer all got waves.

Ruby said: “It was kinda nerve-racking , the conditions were so tricky but we got it done and it was great to take the win.

“Conditions have been pretty tricky all week but we’ve all been supporting each other. It has been raining and windy but we’re getting through it as long as we just keep frothing on whatever the conditions are and everyone is doing their best, everyone’s happy.”

Siblings LucaMartin and Will Martin (QLD) took out the U16 Boys MR Shield schools division final, with Luca laying down a solid foundation early in the heat and then Will shutting it down in the second half. The two put in a dominant performance in a final that remarkably had three sets of brothers in it!

Luca said: “So stoked to get the win with my brother. It’s so good because we understand each other and we don’t really get angry at each other if we waste more time. We can just surf our best when we’re with each other.

“I was looking at an early start to get one good wave but fumbled. Seven minutes in I finally got a wave that I could do a few turns on. It means a lot to me that we won.”

In other results, Queensland won the State Team final ahead of NSW and Western Australia.

Contest Director, Liam Robertson said: “There was some incredible surfing today at Cape Woolamai. We saw an increase in swell with a new groundswell filling in providing great waves for the schools division finals. We are expecting this swell to hold in for tomorrow’s final day with all remaining Australian Champions to be crowned!”

Find all the results on LiveHeats.

More information on website HERE.

Watch the final day live on KommunityTV.

Day 7 Finals results:
U16 Girls Allstars
Grace Gosby / Ruby Trew (NSW) – 12.18
Sara Hickson / Sophie Wilkinson (VIC) – 11.35
Eliza Richardson / Meika Locke (QLD) 9.13
Rosie Gillett / Indie Siedmiogrodzki (WA) – 6.28

U16 Boys Allstars
Maverick Wilson / Okie Fraser (WA) – 12.83
Mitchell Peterson / Will Martin (QLD) – 12.03
Pheonix Vischer / Felix Byrnes (NSW) – 9.66
Jerry Kelly / Rye Cicero (VIC) – 8.76

U19 Girls Allstars
Eva Bassed / Sarsha Pancic (VIC) – 12.41
Kaleisha Launders / Willow Hines (WA) – 9.38
Imojen Enfield / Jemma Holley (NSW) – 6.96
Gisele Sinclair / Jordy Halford (QLD) – 6.96

U19 Boys Allstars
Willem Watson / Lucas Hickson (VIC) – 12.20
Sol Gruendling / Fred Carmody (NSW) – 10.60
Jesse Siedmiogrodzki / Otis North (WA) – 9.73
Riley Munro / Zyah Hession (QLD) – 8.13

U16 Girls MR Shield
Meika Locke / Sea White (QLD) – Palm Beach Currumbin SHS – 12.21
Olive Hardy / Mia Jacobs (WA) – Margaret River SHS – 10.05
Sara Hickson / Sophie Wilkinson (VIC) – Dromana Secondary College – 9.71
Ocea Curtis / Mia Baker (NSW) – Byron Bay High School – 8.68

U16 Boys MR Shield
Luca Martin / Will Martin (QLD) – Palm Beach Currumbin SHS – 11.33
Fynn Lange / Reef Lange (WA) – Margaret River SHS – 9.76
Jarrah Cicero / Rye Cicero (VIC) – Foster Secondary College – 9.28
Ashton Crowley / Arley Partridge (SA) – Cardijn College – 8.63

U19 Girls MR Shield
Willow Hardy / Ruby Berry (WA) – Margaret River SHS 1 – 14.61
Holly Wishart / Lucy Darragh (NSW) – Kiama High School – 9.93
Maia Taite / Anamika Jakhwal (SA) – Southern Montessori – 8.45
Armanie Barber / Rosie Richardson (QLD) – Sunshine Beach SHS – 3.93

U19 Boys MR Shield
Riley Munro / Davi Glazer (QLD) – Palm Beach Currumbin SHS – 15.51
Macklin Flynn / Cruz Sheridan (WA) – Margaret River SHS – 12.33
Jack Bassett / Remy Roberts (VIC) – St. Ignatius College – 11.38
Lachlan Smith / Brin Valaire (NSW) – Newcastle Grammar School – 8.52

State Tag Team Final:
Queensland – 33.71
New South Wales – 31.99
Western Australia – 29.34
Victoria – 27.21
South Australia – 16.83
Tasmania – 14.01

About the Woolworths Australian Junior Surfing Titles:
The Woolworths Australian Junior Surfing Titles encompass individual divisions for U14 – U18 Junior Men and Women as well as school surfing divisions for U16 – U19 (Allstars & MR Shield) Junior Men and Women and is the final major counting event on the National Junior Rankings, awarding 10,000 points to every age division winner.

Surfing Australia would like to acknowledge the Bunurong people as the traditional owners of the land on which the competition will be held and we pay our respects to elders, past, present and emerging and thank them for the opportunity.

The event is supported by major partner Woolworths, presenting partner Surfers for Climate, media partner KommunityTV and supporting partners Le Tan, Ruffie, Wax Fresh, Destination Gippsland, Bass Coast Shire Council and Surfing Victoria.

My Profile

Login to your profile or Sign up to our new Surfing Portal.


Head to your Surfing Portal to purchase or renew memberships

Events & Courses

Head to your Surfing Portal to enter events and courses.


Other News

Jarvis Earle takes out the Krui Pro QS 5000

Jarvis Earle takes out the Krui Pro QS 5000

Jarvis Earle overcame a huge field of Asia Pacific's best up-and-coming surfers as well as huge surf throughout the week to claim victory at the Krui Pro Qualifying Series 5000.The men’s Final saw two of the event...

read more