Top 12 Surf Photos of the Year presented by Tracks

Published on 09/02/2024

With the Australian Surfing Awards just around the corner, Surfing Australia is thrilled to reveal the top 12 Surf Photos of the Year presented by Tracks.

The Top 12 include images from well-known surf photographers, as well as up-and-comers who are starting to make their mark in the industry. The photos are a mix of land and water-based imagery and were judged by an expert panel from Tracks, Surfing Australia, as well as independent judges.

Tracks Editor in Chief, Luke Kennedy, said: “The finalists have set a high bar this year. All of the images have that enchanting quality that makes you want to keep staring. You’d be delighted to see any of these hung on your wall.”

The Surf Photo of the Year winner will receive a Soundboks speaker valued at $1499, while the top 12 images will be displayed in a gallery at Bondi Pavilion presented by OnStone. Each image is framed and printed on stone surfaces that preserve each memory forever. These 12 individually framed Surf Photos of the Year will be available for guests to purchase exclusively at the Australian Surfing Awards at Bondi Pavilion on February 28.

Proceeds from the gallery sales will go direct to the image photographers and Surfing Australia environment partner, Surfers for Climate.

2023 Surf Photo of the Year presented by Tracks – Top 12 (in no particular order):
Clementine Bourke “Parallel Universe”
Matt Dunbar “Blake Johnston”
Bill Morris “Max Miguigan”
Sam Venn – coastal landscape
Nick Green “Russell Bierke”
Ted Grambeau “Russell Bierke”
Joshua Tabone “Shaun Manners”
Ben Jackson “Darcy Piper”
Josh Bystrom “Summa Longbottom”
Simon “Swilly” Williams “Mitch Parkinson – Snapper Rocks”
Mathew Tildesley “Aquanova – Tasmania”
Andrew Shield “Korbin Hutchins”

You can see a preview of one of the finalists in The Weekend Australian magazine’s Heart of the Nation, out tomorrow.

About the Surf Photo of the Year presented by Tracks:
A single, compelling photo featuring a surfer, line-up or lifestyle shot that captures the essence of Australian Surfing. The photo must be taken by an Australian photographer, on Australian shores in 2023 (maximum three photo submissions per photographer).

About the Australian Surfing Awards:
For the 60th-anniversary of Surfing Australia and the first time in the history of the Australian Surfing Awards, the prestigious event will be held at the iconic Bondi Pavilion at Bondi Beach in Sydney on Wednesday, the 28th of February.

A total of 19 awards will be presented to both individuals and groups who have made significant and enduring contributions to the development of surfing in Australia, including several new awards.

The 19 award categories are:
Male Surfer of the Year
Female Surfer of the Year
Mick Fanning Male Rising Star Award (Under 18) presented by Griffith University
Stephanie Gilmore Female Rising Star Award (Under 18) presented by Griffith University
Male Para Surfer of the Year
Female Para Surfer of the Year
Heavy Water Award
Greater Good Award
Peter Troy Lifetime Achievement Award presented by Surfing World
Coach of the Year Award
Surf School of the Year Award
Innovation Award presented by ACCIONA
Surf Culture Award presented by Jim Beam
Simon Anderson Club Award by Curly Lewis
Indigenous Surfing – Community Celebration Award
Surf Film of the Year – Filmer Award
Surf Clip of the Year – Surfer Award (under 15 minutes)
Surf Photo of the Year presented by Tracks
Breakthrough Surf Brand of the Year Award
Australian Surfing Hall of Fame Inductee

Event website HERE.

Download the Top 12 Photos of the Year presented by Tracks HERE.

The Australian Surfing Awards incorporating the Hall of Fame are proudly sponsored by Griffith University, ACCIONA, Jim Beam, Le Tan, Small Things Wine, Tracks, Surfing World, Curly Lewis and OnStone.

My Profile

Login to your profile or Sign up to our new Surfing Portal.


Head to your Surfing Portal to purchase or renew memberships

Events & Courses

Head to your Surfing Portal to enter events and courses.


Other News

Skullcandy Oz Grom Open kicks off at Lennox Head

Skullcandy Oz Grom Open kicks off at Lennox Head

Some of the world’s best and most exciting grommet surfers will call Lennox Head home this week when the Skullcandy Oz Grom Open kicks off. This six-day event will run from 4 July – 9 July 2024 and will comprise of a...

read more