Wildcard Clubs Announced For Hyundai Australian Boardriders Battle Newcastle Grand Final

Published on 19/01/2022

CASUARINA/NSW(Wednesday, January 19th/2022): As the Hyundai Australian Boardriders Battle Series Nine Grand Final at Newcastle Main Beach on February 5th and 6th looms large, so does the threat of five wildcard clubs who can shake things up over what is always two days of epic surfing. 

North Shelly Boardriders Club have been right on the verge of winning the Grand Final on more than one occasion in the past six years, regularly finishing their campaign in the final heat of the day and more recently finishing running up to Merewether Surfboard Club in 2019. 

After missing the event whilst on the world tour, North Shelly superstar Macy Callaghan is pumped to represent her club at Newcastle Main Beach this year. 

Macy said: “The Australian Boardriders Battle Grand Final is one of the best events I compete in each and every year. I’ve been lucky to surf in a handful of finals over the years alongside guys who I grew up surfing with at North Shelly and it always is such an amazing vibe. The few years I haven’t been able to compete because I’ve been travelling, I’ve still made sure that I’m there glued to the screen and yelling and cheering for my club. I can’t wait to be back in it again this year.”  

Second Wildcard Merewether Surfboard Club will look to a mix of youth and experience in young gun Mike Clayton Brown, Tour legend Luke Egan and current Challenger series shredder Phillipa Anderson.  

2022 Hyundai Australian Boardriders Battle Grand Final Qualified Clubs:

  1. Snapper SRC
  2. North Shore BRC
  3. Burleigh Heads BRC
  4. Kawana BRC
  5. North Steyne BRC
  6. Nth Narrabeen BRC
  7. Long Reef BRC
  8. Le Ba BRC
  9. Kingscliff BRC
  10. Coffs Harbour BRC
  11. Scarborough BRC
  12. Jones Beach BRC
  13. Cronulla Sharks BRC
  14. Margaret River BRC
  15. Seaford BRC
  16. South Arm BRC
  17. Phillip Island BRC
  18. Torquay BRC


  1. North Shelley BRC
  2. Merewether SBC
  3. Point Lookout BRC
  4. Maroubra United BRC
  5. North Avalon Surfing Association
  6.  * Local Trials WINNER 

The 2021/22 Hyundai Australian Boardriders Battle has been bigger and better than ever since launching into its ninth season on the Gold Coast earlier this year. In what has become world-renowned as the biggest and best club surfing series on the planet, the nine-leg Hyundai Australian Boardriders Battle Series travels to all corners of the country with events at epic locations like Newcastle for the National Final. For previous results, images and video highlights head over to www.australianboardridersbattle.com

Hyundai Australian Boardriders Battle Series Nine Schedule:

ABB – EVENT 1 – Gold Coast, QLD – August 28, 2021 -COMPLETED

ABB – EVENT 2 – Fleurieu Peninsula, SA – Sept 4, 2021 –COMPLETED

ABB – EVENT 3 – Trigg, WA – Sept 18, 2021 –COMPLETED

ABB – EVENT 4 – Scamander, TAS – Oct 2, 2021–COMPLETED

ABB – EVENT 5 – NSW Central – North Narrabeen, NSW – Nov 27, 2021 — COMPLETED

ABB – EVENT 6 – NSW South – Kiama, NSW – Dec 11, 2021–COMPLETED


ABB – EVENT 8 – NSW Nth – Coffs Harbour, NSW – Dec 18, 2021 — COMPLETED

Grand Final – Newcastle Beach, NSW – Feb 5 – 6, 2022

The 2021/22 Hyundai Australian Boardriders Battle Grand Final is proudly supported by Hyundai, Zambrero, Oakley, ACCIONA, Woolworths, Pics Peanut Butter, City of Newcastle, Destination NSW, Andrew Peace Wines, Gage Roads Brewing Company and Surfing Australia.

My Profile

Login to your profile or Sign up to our new Surfing Portal.


Head to your Surfing Portal to purchase or renew memberships

Events & Courses

Head to your Surfing Portal to enter events and courses.


Other News