North Narrabeen Win 2021 nudie Australian Boardriders Battle National Final

Published on 16/05/2021

NEWCASTLE/NSW(May 16th/2021):All the elements aligned today as Newcastle Main Beach turned on for the last day of the nudie Australian Boardriders Battle Series Final where former champions North Narrabeen Boardriders Club once again reigned supreme. 

As usual, the final was a nail-biting affair with all four clubs going blow for blow, sending their power surfers out for the last ten minutes in a position to win the crown. 

Nathan Hedge started the final for his beloved North Narrabeen in perfect fashion, nailing a 7 point single wave score in the first three minutes, giving the rest of the team plenty of breathing room. 

Nathan Hedge said: “It was definitely a good way to start the final, it just set a good precedent for the team to relax a bit moving forward. There’s a legacy of champions that have come through Narrabeen and we have won this event before but there’s fresh blood and each year it’s mind-blowing to see new talent come through. These guys are the future and I am just super proud of this club.”

Newcastle Lord Mayor Nuatali Nelmes said surfing events were part of Newcastle’s fabric.

“City of Newcastle is proud to bring our community another successful surfing event, showcasing local talent and putting on a great display for Novocastrians and visitors alike.

The surfing world loves Newcastle for the people, community atmosphere and the waves, which is why on the back of years delivering Surfest we are able to attract the Australian Boardriders Battle and the recent WSL Championship Tour.”

“Our City is well known for its iconic surfing culture and a community that’s passionate about creating and nurturing surfing talent.”

“Congratulations to this year’s winner North Narrabeen Boardriders Club and all those who helped make the 2021 Australian Boardriders Battle a success.”

nudie Australian Boardriders Battle Series Final: 

1ST – North Narrabeen Boardriders Club 

2ND – Snapper Rocks Surfriders Club 

3RD – Merewether Surfboard Club 

4TH – Point Lookout Boardriders Club

Other Awards at the National Final included: 

 Hyundai Electric Air Show – $1000 – Kobi Clements ( Long Reef Boardriders) 

 Surfing Australia Club Spirit Award – $1500- North Shelly Boardriders 

Woolworths Fresh Wave Award – $500 – Mikey Clayton-Brown ( Merewether Surfboard Club) 

Hyundai ‘She’s Electric’ Award – Sophie McCulloch (North Shore Boardriders Club) 

Layne Beachley Medal – Nyxie Ryan (LeBa Boardriders Club) 

Wayne Rabbit Batholomew Medal – Jarvis Earle ( Elouera Boardriders Club) 

For full results, images and video highlights head over to​

The eighth season of the nudie Australian Boardriders Battle is the country’s biggest grassroots boardriders event, involving more than 60 of Australia’s best boardrider clubs and $112,700 in prize money.

Adding to the high stakes at the State qualifying events will be two speciality awards. The Oakley Prizm Performer will be awarded to the standout surfer, while the Surfing Australia Innovation Award ($1000) will be presented to the surfer who performs the most innovative manoeuvre.

NOTE: Due to the ongoing COVID-19 situation and Surfing Australia’s commitment to comply with all State and Federal regulations, series dates are subject to change at any time. 

The nudie Australian Boardriders Battle is proudly supported by Destination NSW.

The 2020/21 nudie Australian Boardriders Battle series is proudly supported by nudie, Oakley, Woolworths, Hyundai, City of Newcastle, ACCIONA 2XP, Surfrider Foundation, mySURFtv and Surfing Australia.

My Profile

Login to your profile or Sign up to our new Surfing Portal.


Head to your Surfing Portal to purchase or renew memberships

Events & Courses

Head to your Surfing Portal to enter events and courses.


Other News